您本人或關心的人是否確診為骨髓纖維化,且接受了核准 JAK 抑制劑的治療?

您可能有資格參加針對骨髓纖維化患者舉辦的臨床試驗。
進一步瞭解

骨髓纖維化

骨髓纖維化是一種罕見的血癌,會使人體無法正常生成血球細胞。骨髓纖維化會在骨髓內生成疤痕組織或「纖維化」,損害骨髓產生健康紅血球與血小板的能力。喪失紅血球和血小板可能導致貧血和血小板減少症,這樣可能造成虛弱、疲倦以及危及生命的出血事件。
隨著骨髓能製造的健康紅血球越來越少,造血癌細胞會在骨髓以外的脾臟或肝臟等器官內不正常增生,導致器官變大。脾臟腫大在骨髓纖維化患者身上很常見,可能導致腹部疼痛/不適、過早出現飽漲感,以及食慾降低。
癌細胞還會產生一種稱為「細胞激素」的物質,導致癌症相關的發炎。這些細胞激素的不正常釋放通常會導致疾病相關的症狀,例如疲勞、夜間盜汗、搔癢和發燒。
骨髓纖維化患者一般需要治療。但是,核准的療法只能縮小腫大的脾臟,並減緩癌症相關發炎有關的症狀。遺憾的是,目前的骨髓纖維化治療尚無法成功恢復正常血球生成,或逆轉癌症驅動的骨髓纖維化。

Navtemadlin (KRT-232)

Navtemadlin (KRT-232) 是一種研究性療法,會鎖定稱為 MDM2 的蛋白質,為骨髓纖維化患者提供有潛力的新療法。
MDM2 這種蛋白質能負向調節腫瘤抑制基因「p53」(又稱為基因體守護者) 的活動。
鑑於 p53 的核心角色在於控制細胞在人體內的自然生命週期,因此 MDM2 與 p53 之間有著一種微妙的平衡。但可惜的是,在骨髓纖維化患者身上,癌細胞會異常增加 MDM2 含量,阻斷 p53 及其對抗癌症的能力。
在骨髓纖維化患者身上,KRT-232 治療會抑制 MDM2 的高含量,恢復 p53 功能及其殺死骨髓纖維化癌細胞的能力。

BOREAS 試驗

BOREAS 是一項全球第 3 期註冊研究,對象是以稱為「Janus 激酶 (JAK) 抑制劑」的藥物類別治療之後疾病惡化的骨髓纖維化患者。
JAK 抑制劑 是骨髓纖維化患者的第一線用藥,也是目前經美國與歐洲核准的唯一治療選項。目前沒有核准用於 JAK 抑制劑治療後復發或難治的骨髓纖維化患者的第二線治療。
BOREAS 會針對經 JAK 抑制劑治療後惡化或無反應的骨髓纖維化患者,比較 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 與最佳可用療法相比的療效與安全性。
約有 282 位患者會參與這項研究,包括隨機分配使用 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 療法的 188 位患者,以及分配使用最佳可用療法的 94 位患者。對於隨機分配到最佳可用療法的患者,您的治療醫師會為您開立適合的療法。
治療開始前,所有患者都會接受完整臨床評估。會收集血液樣本,確認 p53 蛋白具有功能且未發生突變。此外,也會使用 MRI 或 CT 掃描測量所有患者的脾臟體積,且患者必須填寫問卷,評量全身症狀。血液檢查、掃描攝影和症狀問卷會在研究之前與整個研究過程中進行。在最初 24 週,除非患者無法耐受治療或疾病惡化,否則會維持 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 或最佳可用療法。
在治療 24 週後,會使用兩種評估方式,比較 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 與最佳可用療法以分析療效:(1) 以 MRI 或 CT 檢查脾臟體積從研究開始到 24 週的縮小程度,以及 (2) 患者從研究開始到 24 週以來自行回報的症狀。
因此,測量 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 與最佳可用療法相比有效性的兩種主要方法就是 24 週治療後脾臟體積縮小的程度以及症狀的改善狀況。

Please click to enlarge picture.

常見問答

試驗地點

BOREAS 試驗會在至少 20 個國家的約 140 個癌症中心進行。請使用下方互動式地圖找出您附近可讓患者登記參與本試驗的癌症中心。

    您符合資格嗎?

    • 年滿 18 歲
    • 曾確診為骨髓纖維化
    • 先前接受過JAK 抑制劑 治療骨髓纖維化,並被告知疾病惡化

    您還必須符合其他條件,才能參與試驗。請聯絡您最近的參與中心。他們可以提供試驗規定的更多資訊。

    若您希望進一步瞭解適用於骨髓纖維化患者的 BOREAS 臨床試驗,請填寫下表。

Have you or a loved one been diagnosed with myelofibrosis and received treatment with an approved JAK inhibitor?

You could be eligible to participate in a clinical trial for patients with myelofibrosis.
Learn More

Myelofibrosis

Myeloflbrosis is a rare blood cancer that disrupts the normal production of blood cells in the human body. Myelofibrosis causes the formation of scar tissue or “fibrosis” in the bone marrow, impairing the bone marrow’s ability to produce healthy red blood cells and platelets. The loss of red blood cells and platelets can lead to anemia and thrombocytopenia, which may cause weakness, fatigue and life-threatening bleeding events.
As the bone marrow makes fewer and fewer healthy red blood cells, abnormal growth of blood-forming cancer cells may occur outside of the bone marrow in organs such as the spleen or liver causing them to become enlarged. An enlarged spleen is common in patients with myelofibrosis, and it may result in abdominal pain/discomfort, a feeling of early fullness and a decreased appetite.
Cancer cells also produce substances called “cytokines” that cause cancer-related inflammation. The abnormal release of these cytokines often results in disease related symptoms such as fatigue, night sweats, itching and fevers.
Patients with myelofibrosis typically need treatment. However, approved therapies only reduce the size of an enlarged spleen and relieve the symptoms associated with the cancer-related inflammation. Unfortunately, current treatments in myelofibrosis have been unsuccessful in restoring normal blood cell production or reversing the cancer driven bone marrow fibrosis.

Navtemadlin (KRT-232)

Navtemadlin (KRT-232) is an investigational therapy that targets a protein called MDM2, offering a potential new treatment for patients with myelofibrosis.
MDM2 is a protein that negatively regulates the activity of a tumor suppressor gene called p53, also known as the “Guardian of the Genome”.
Given the central role of p53 to control the natural lifecycle of cells within the human body, a delicate balance exists between MDM2 and p53. Unfortunately, in myelofibrosis, cancer cells abnormally increase MDM2 levels to shutdown p53 and its ability to fight cancer.
In patients with myelofibrosis, navtemadlin (KRT-232) treatment inhibits the high levels of MDM2 and restores the function of p53 and its ability to kill myelofibrosis cancer cells.

BOREAS Trial

BOREAS is a global Phase 3 registration study for patients with myeloflbrosis whose disease has progressed after treatment with a class of drugs called Janus kinase (JAK) inhibitors.
JAK inhibitors, ruxolitinib or fedratinib, are used in the front line setting for patients with myeloflbrosis and they are the only treatments options currently approved in the United States and Europe. There are no approved therapies in the second line setting for patients with myelofibrosis who are relapsed or refractory to a JAK inhibitor.
BOREAS will compare the efficacy and safety of navtemadlin (KRT-232) versus best available therapy in patients with myelofibrosis whose disease has progressed on or failed to respond to a JAK inhibitor.
Approximately 282 patients will participate in this study including 188 patients randomly assigned to navtemadlin (KRT-232) therapy and 94 patients assigned to best available therapy. For patients randomized to best available therapy, your treating physician will prescribe a therapy appropriate to you.
Before treatment starts, all patients will undergo complete clinical evaluations. Blood samples are collected to ensure the p53 protein is functional and not mutated. In addition, the spleen volume of all patients will be measured using MRI or CT scans and patients will fill out questionnaires to measure their constitutional symptoms. Blood work, imaging and the symptom questionnaire will occur prior to and throughout the study. For the first 24 weeks, patients remain on navtemadlin (KRT-232) or best available therapy unless they cannot tolerate treatment or their disease progresses.
After 24 weeks of treatment, efficacy will be analyzed comparing navtemadlin (KRT-232) to best available therapy using 2 assessments: (1) Spleen-volume reduction from study-start to 24 weeks by MRI or CT, and (2) Patients’ self-reported symptoms from study-start to 24 weeks.
As such, the two key measures of effectiveness for navtemadlin (KRT-232) compared to best available therapy are reduction in spleen-volume and improvement in symptoms after 24 weeks of treatment.

Please click to enlarge picture.

FAQ

Trial Locations

The BOREAS trial will be conducted in approximately 140 cancer centers across at least 20 countries. Please use the interactive map below to locate a cancer center near you where patients are being enrolled to this trial.

    Do You Qualify?

    • Are 18 years of age or older
    • Have received a diagnosis of myelofibrosis
    • Were previously treated with ruxolitinib or fedratinib for myelofibrosis and were told that your disease has progressed

    Many other conditions must be met before you may participate in the trial. Please contact your nearest participating center. They will be able to give you more information about the requirements for the trial.

    If you would like to learn more about BOREAS Clinical Trial for Patients with Myelofibrosis, please fill out the form below.