歡迎

BOREAS 是一項隨機、開放式第 3 期臨床試驗,針對接受過 Janus 激酶 (JAK) 抑制劑治療但復發或難治的原發性或續發性骨髓纖維化 (MF) 患者,評估 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 與最佳可用療法 (BAT) 治療相比的療效與安全性。此試驗全球將會招募 282 位患者。

Navtemadlin (KRT-232)

Navtemadlin (KRT-232) 是一種有效、選擇性、可口服的小鼠雙微體基因 2 (MDM2) 抑制劑。1,2 MDM2 是腫瘤抑制蛋白 p53 (又稱為基因體守護者) 的主要負向調節基因。MDM2 在 MF 患者 CD34+ 骨髓細胞內過度表現,且 MDM2 含量提高會降低 p53 活性,導致 CD34+ 癌細胞增生。 抑制 MDM2 蛋白能恢復 p53 功能,導致惡性 CD34+ 癌細胞凋亡。3-5
在一項概念驗證第 2 期研究中,KRT-232 在 JAK 抑制劑治療後復發或難治的 MF 患者身上展現出有希望的活性。16% 的患者達到 ≥35% 的最佳脾臟體積縮小量,30% 的患者達到 ≥50% 的最佳總症狀分數下降。此外,MF 患者在接受 24 週的 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 療法之後,末稍血液 CD34+ 細胞出現 88% 的中位數降低。6
在第 2 期研究過程中,無須 JAK 抑制劑洗除期,可能減少了 MF 患者脾臟體積縮小量。在基線建立 MRI/CT 掃描之前停用 ruxolitinib (JAK 抑制劑治療) 的患者,與基線建立掃描當時仍維持使用 ruxolitinib 療法的患者相比,發現了更優異的脾臟反應 (≥35% 的最佳脾臟體積縮小量:29% 比 0%)。6
KRT-232 展現出可耐受的安全特性,包括預防噁心與嘔吐。6
6

如需 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 的更多資訊,請前往 www.kartosthera.com/science.

BOREAS 試驗概觀

Please click to enlarge picture.

BOREAS 是一項全球、多中心、第 3 期隨機分配、對照、開放式研究,旨在針對接受過 JAK 抑制劑治療但復發或難治的原發性與繼發性骨髓纖維化患者,評估 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 與最佳可用療法 (BAT) 相比的療效與安全性。
患者會以 2:1 的比例隨機分配到 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 或 BAT 組別。BAT 會由治療醫師判斷。所有患者都會接受治療,直到疾病惡化、出現不可接受的毒性、死亡或撤回同意為止。
主要試驗指標
第 24 週以 MRI/CT 掃描檢查出脾臟體積縮小量 ≥ 35% 的患者比例 (中心審查)。
次要試驗指標
  • 在第 24 週總症狀分數 (MFSAF v4.0) 下降 ≥ 50% 的患者比例
  • 整體存活期
  • 無惡化存活期
  • 最佳整體脾臟反應
  • 脾臟體積反應 ≥ 35% 的時間長度
  • 在第 24 週時不仰賴紅血球輸血的患者比例
不良事件回報
若您認為患者在參與 navtemadlin (KRT-232) 研究過程中發生不良事件,請立即遵循研究計畫書中的程序回報事件。

所選資格標準

納入準則
  • 年滿 18 歲的成人
  • 根據 2016 年世界衛生組織 (WHO) 確診為原發性骨髓纖維化或後真性多紅血球症/後原發性血小板增多症骨髓纖維化
  • 由「動態國際預後系統 (DIPSS)」定義為高風險、中度-2 風險或中度-1 風險
  • 具有野生型 p53 的患者
  • 先前接受過核准 JAK 抑制劑治療但復發或難治
  • ECOG 體能狀態為 0 到 2
排除準則
  • 先前接受過脾臟切除術
  • 在隨機分配前 28 天內參加過介入性臨床試驗
  • 在隨機分配前 3 個月內接受過脾臟輻射
  • 在隨機分配前 6 個月內有重大出血或顱內出血的病史
  • 在隨機分配前 6 個月內有中風、可逆性缺血性神經功能缺失或暫時性腦缺血發作的病史
  • 先前接受過 MDM2 抑制劑療法或 p53 導向療法
  • 先前接受過異體造血幹細胞移植或計畫接受異體造血幹細胞移植
  • 有重大器官移植病史
  • 第 2 級或更高的 QTc 延長 (根據 NCI-CTCAE 準則第 5.0 版 > 480 毫秒)

請查閱 clinicaltrials.gov 以取得更多資訊。

試驗地點

BOREAS 試驗會在至少 20 個國家的約 140 個癌症中心進行。請使用下方互動式地圖找出您附近可讓患者登記參與本試驗的癌症中心。

    指導委員會成員

    這裡所列的醫師為 BOREAS 試驗指導委員會的成員,他們會提供試驗指引與監督。

    參考資料

    1. Sun D, Li Z, Rew Y, et al. Discovery of AMG 232, a potent, selective, and orally bioavailable MDM2-p53 inhibitor in clinical development. J Med Chem. 2014;57:1454-72.
    2. Canon J, Osgood T, Olson SH, et al. The MDM2 inhibitor AMG 232 demonstrates robust antitumor efficacy and potentiates the activity of p53-inducing cytotoxic agents.Mol Cancer Ther. 2015;14:649-58.
    3. Wade M, Li Y, Wahl GM. MDM2, MDMX and p53 in oncogenesis and cancer therapy. Nature Reviews Cancer. 2013;13:83-96.
    4. Oliner JD, Saiki AY, Caenepeel S. The role of MDM2 amplification and overexpression in tumorigenesis.Cold Spring Harb Perspect Med. 2016;6 pii: a026336.
    5. Tisato V, Voltan R, Gonelli A, et al. MDM2/X inhibitors under clinical evaluation: perspectives for the management of hematological malignancies and pediatric cancer.J Hematol Oncol. 2017;10:133.
    6. Al-Ali et al. Navtemadlin (KRT-232), a first-in-class, murine double minute 2 inhibitor (MDM2i) for myelofibrosis (MF) relapsed or refractory (R/R) to Janus-associated kinase inhibitor (JAKi) treatment (TX). HemaSphere. 2020;4:S215.

Welcome

BOREAS is a randomized, open label Phase 3 clinical trial that will evaluate the efficacy and safety of navtemadlin (KRT-232) versus best available therapy (BAT) for the treatment of primary or secondary myelofibrosis (MF) in patients who are relapsed or refractory to Janus kinase (JAK) inhibitor treatment. This trial will enroll 282 patients globally.

Navtemadlin (KRT-232)

Navtemadlin (KRT-232) is a potent, selective, orally available inhibitor of murine double minute 2 (MDM2).1,2 MDM2 is a key negative regulator of the tumor suppressor protein p53, also known as “The Guardian of the Genome”. MDM2 is overexpressed in CD34+ myeloid cells of MF patients and elevated MDM2 levels can reduce p53 activity causing the proliferation of CD34+ cancer cells. Inhibiting the MDM2 protein restores p53 function resulting in apoptosis of malignant CD34+ cancer cells.3-5
In a proof-of-concept Phase 2 study, navtemadlin (KRT-232) showed promising activity in patients with MF who are relapsed or refractory to JAK inhibitor treatment. Sixteen percent of patients achieved a best-reduction in spleen volume of ≥35% and 30% of patients achieved a best-reduction in Total Symptom Score ≥50%. In addition, MF patients experienced a median reduction of 87% in their peripheral blood CD34+ cells after 24 weeks on navtemadlin (KRT-232) therapy.6
During the Phase 2 study, a JAK inhibitor washout period was not required which may have reduced the reported spleen volume reductions in MF patients. Spleen responses were found to be superior in patients who were off ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor treatment) prior to their baseline MRI/CT scan versus those who were remained on ruxolitinib therapy at the time of their baseline scan (best-reduction of spleen volume ≥35%: 29% vs 0%).6
Navtemadlin (KRT-232) demonstrated a tolerable safety profile that included prophylaxis for nausea and vomiting.6

For more information about navtemadlin (KRT-232), please visit www.kartosthera.com/science.

BOREAS Trial Overview

Please click to enlarge picture.

BOREAS is a global, multicenter, Phase 3 randomized, controlled, open-label study that is designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of navtemadlin (KRT-232) versus best available therapy (BAT) for the treatment of primary and secondary myelofibrosis in patients who are relapsed or refractory to JAK inhibitor treatment.
Patients will be randomized 2:1 to navtemadlin (KRT-232) or BAT. BAT will be determined by the treating physician. All patients will be treated until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, death, or withdrawal of consent.
Primary Endpoint
The proportion of patients achieving spleen volume response ≥ 35% at Week 24 by MRI/CT scan (central review).
Secondary Endpoints
  • The proportion of patients with ≥ 50% reduction in Total Symptom Score (MFSAF v4.0) at Week 24
  • Overall survival
  • Progression-free survival
  • Best overall spleen response
  • Duration of spleen volume response ≥ 35%
  • The proportion of patients who have RBC transfusion independence at week 24
Adverse Event Reporting
If you believe your patient may have experienced an adverse event while participating in a study that includes navtemadlin (KRT-232), please immediately report the incident following the procedure outlined in study protocol.

Selected Eligibility Criteria

Inclusion Criteria
  • Adults ≥ 18 years of age
  • Confirmed diagnosis of primary myelofibrosis or post-polycythemia vera/post-essential thrombocythemia myelofibrosis in accordance with the World Health Organization (WHO) 2016
  • High-risk, intermediate-2 risk, or intermediate-1 risk, defined by Dynamic International Prognostic System (DIPSS)
  • Patients with wild-type p53
  • Relapsed or refractory to prior treatment with an approved JAK inhibitor
  • ECOG performance status of 0 to 2
Exclusion Criteria
  • Prior splenectomy
  • Participation in an interventional clinical trial within 28 days before randomization
  • Splenic irradiation within 3 months prior to randomization
  • History of major hemorrhage or intracranial hemorrhage within 6 months prior to randomization
  • History of stroke, reversible ischemic neurological defect or transient ischemic attack within 6 months prior to randomization
  • Prior MDM2 inhibitor therapy or p53-directed therapy
  • Prior allogeneic stem-cell transplant or plans for allogeneic stem cell transplant
  • History of major organ transplant
  • Grade 2 or higher QTc prolongation (> 480 milliseconds per NCI-CTCAE criteria, version 5.0)

Please check clinicaltrials.gov for more information.

Trial Locations

The BOREAS trial will be conducted in approximately 140 cancer centers across at least 20 countries. Please use the interactive map below to locate a cancer center near you where patients are being enrolled to this trial.

    The Steering Committee Members

    The physicians shown here are members of the BOREAS Trial Steering Committee, who provide guidance and oversight for the trial.

    References

    1. Sun D, Li Z, Rew Y, et al. Discovery of AMG 232, a potent, selective, and orally bioavailable MDM2-p53 inhibitor in clinical development. J Med Chem. 2014;57:1454-72.
    2. Canon J, Osgood T, Olson SH, et al. The MDM2 inhibitor AMG 232 demonstrates robust antitumor efficacy and potentiates the activity of p53-inducing cytotoxic agents.Mol Cancer Ther. 2015;14:649-58.
    3. Wade M, Li Y, Wahl GM. MDM2, MDMX and p53 in oncogenesis and cancer therapy. Nature Reviews Cancer. 2013;13:83-96.
    4. Oliner JD, Saiki AY, Caenepeel S. The role of MDM2 amplification and overexpression in tumorigenesis.Cold Spring Harb Perspect Med. 2016;6 pii: a026336.
    5. Tisato V, Voltan R, Gonelli A, et al. MDM2/X inhibitors under clinical evaluation: perspectives for the management of hematological malignancies and pediatric cancer.J Hematol Oncol. 2017;10:133.
    6. Al-Ali et al. Navtemadlin (KRT-232), a first-in-class, murine double minute 2 inhibitor (MDM2i) for myelofibrosis (MF) relapsed or refractory (R/R) to Janus-associated kinase inhibitor (JAKi) treatment (TX). HemaSphere. 2020;4:S215.